Animation and Linguistics

My double professional life: when I’m doing Linguistics, I miss my drawings. When I’m animating or painting I miss Linguistics. Anyway, at least, I could find some resemblance among them. Since last week, I’ve been trying to incorporate some things I learned in Phonology  into Animation. Actually, in many animation manuals, even the first one written by the great great artist and animator Preston Blair, there are drawings of lip sync (thumbnail ones) emulating lip shapes, roundness when a character pronounces a vowel, particular shapes for stops (/p/, /t/) and affricates (/ts/ and /dz/), ad so on. Of course, that all the early animators (mainly, the Disney staff) probably based their observations on those lip shapes by looking at books of Phonetics. But, what I call resemblance is in the animation process in itself and relies on more abstract issues. Once, a professor of Linguistics told to the class I was enrolled that there are some patterns in nature, and that a lot of things in nature are depended on binary options. Now, David Pesetsky (Professor of Linguistics at MIT)  have found pattern in music, as well. According to him, music and language have things in common. If this is so, is it possible to find pattern in animation? Are there patterns in the movement of frames? Is the illusion of movement a consequence of binary operations in our retinas? These are open question for me to think about.

Deixe uma resposta

